Takealot / TFS On-Demand
Deliveries, Courier workTakealot Group's independent driver network for Takealot, Mr D and other brands.
Vehicles Scooter, Motorbike, Car Own vehicle Depends PrDP Not confirmed Foreign documents Published
Find out what you need to start driving — without digging through dozens of websites.
Each entry comes from the company's own stated requirements. Where a company says nothing, we say nothing.
Takealot Group's independent driver network for Takealot, Mr D and other brands.
Vehicles Scooter, Motorbike, Car Own vehicle Depends PrDP Not confirmed Foreign documents Published
Food and grocery delivery app operated by the Takealot Group.
Vehicles Scooter, Motorbike, Car Own vehicle Yes PrDP Not confirmed Foreign documents Published
Ride-hailing app for driving passengers.
Vehicles Car Own vehicle Depends PrDP Required Foreign documents Not stated
Food and grocery delivery on the Uber Eats app.
Vehicles Scooter, Motorbike, Car Own vehicle Not confirmed PrDP Not confirmed Foreign documents Published
Ride-hailing app for driving passengers.
Vehicles Car Own vehicle No PrDP Required Foreign documents Not stated
Ride-hailing app where the passenger and driver agree the fare.
Vehicles Car Own vehicle Not confirmed PrDP Not confirmed Foreign documents Not stated
On-demand grocery delivery from Checkers stores.
Vehicles Motorbike Own vehicle Depends PrDP Not confirmed Foreign documents Published
On-demand delivery service in the Shoprite group.
Vehicles Motorbike Own vehicle Depends PrDP Not confirmed Foreign documents Published
On-demand and scheduled parcel delivery for retail and pharmacy clients.
Vehicles Motorbike, Car, Van Own vehicle Depends PrDP Not confirmed Foreign documents Published
On-demand grocery delivery from Pick n Pay stores.
Vehicles Not confirmed Own vehicle Not confirmed PrDP Not confirmed Foreign documents Not stated
Companies say very different things. Uber Eats lists every document it accepts, including an asylum seeker permit. Bolt lists none. Knowing which is which saves you a wasted trip.
Most applications stall on paperwork, not on driving. Pick a company and tick off exactly what it asks for.
Your ticks stay in your browser. We never see them.
The permit for driving passengers for money. Uber and Bolt both need it, and it is the slowest step. Government says up to 12 weeks.
Almost nobody gives a figure. One company does, with its method. Here is what it means, and the costs that come off it.
One company accepts an international permit outright. Passenger work runs through a South African licence card, and that is where it gets hard.
Three companies offer a way in without owning a vehicle. None gives a price. The questions to get answered in writing first.
E-hailing vehicles need one, plus branding and a panic button. What the Department of Transport has said, and what it has not.
Four companies say where they work. Ten cities have enough detail to be worth a page of their own.