How to Become a Pick n Pay asap! Driver in South Africa
Pick n Pay takes no driver applications of its own. Picup delivers asap! orders, so Picup is the route in.
- Work
- Deliveries
- Vehicles
- Not confirmed
- Own vehicle
- Not confirmed Pick n Pay says nothing. One asap! driver told BusinessTech that drivers bring their own vehicle and pay their own fuel and data. That is one person, not a rule.
- Minimum age
- Not stated
- Licence
- Not confirmed
- PrDP
- Not confirmed What is a PrDP? Not mentioned.
- Foreign documents
- Not stated
- Applications
- Not confirmed Pick n Pay lists no driver requirements and no application route for asap!. Checked 6 September 2026
- Cities
- Not confirmed
- Apply at
- Official website We have not found a direct application link.
- Last checked
- 6 September 2026
Overview
Apply to Picup. Picup delivers Pick n Pay asap! orders, and its drivers have a Pick n Pay asap! procedure for failed collections and returns. That is the one confirmed route to asap! work.
Pick n Pay itself publishes nothing for drivers: no application, no requirements, no minimum age, no vehicle rule and no city list. So there is no Pick n Pay checklist on this page, and there is nothing to apply to at Pick n Pay.
Start here
Picup takes registrations in its own Android app. You need a vehicle, a driving licence, third party insurance and a DEKRA vehicle assessment you pay for. Picup publishes its rates, so you can work out what a trip pays before you start.
Picup does not say it handles every asap! store, so applying gets you Picup work rather than guaranteed asap! work.
The other Pick n Pay route
Pick n Pay also sells groceries through Mr D. For those orders, apply on Mr D's own driver page. TFS On-Demand says its network delivers for Mr D and other brands too. Neither says that applying gets you Pick n Pay work.
On pay
Pick n Pay says nothing about pay. One asap! driver told BusinessTech that drivers bring their own vehicle and pay their own fuel and data. That is one person, not a rate.
Picup's published rates are on its own page.
One warning
Nobody can sign you up as a Pick n Pay asap! driver over WhatsApp, because Pick n Pay does not sign up drivers. Do not pay anyone who says otherwise.
Requirements
| Requirement | What it says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Own vehicle | Not confirmed Pick n Pay says nothing. One asap! driver told BusinessTech that drivers bring their own vehicle and pay their own fuel and data. That is one person, not a rule. | Company page 6 Sep 2026 |
| Minimum age | Not confirmed Not mentioned. | Company page 6 Sep 2026 |
| Driving licence | Not confirmed Not mentioned. | Company page 6 Sep 2026 |
| Professional Driving Permit (PrDP) | Not confirmed Not mentioned. | Company page 6 Sep 2026 |
| Smartphone | Not confirmed Not mentioned. | Company page 6 Sep 2026 |
| Vehicle age limit | Not confirmed | No source |
| Roadworthy certificate | Not confirmed | No source |
| Vehicle insurance | Not confirmed | No source |
| Vehicle inspection | Not confirmed | No source |
| Criminal / background screening | Not confirmed | No source |
| Bank account | Not confirmed | No source |
| Training or onboarding session | Not confirmed | No source |
| Delivery bag or box | Not confirmed | No source |
| Helmet / protective gear | Not confirmed | No source |
Documents
| Document | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| South African ID | Not confirmed | |
| South African passport | Not confirmed | |
| Foreign passport | Not confirmed | |
| Work permit or visa allowing work | Not confirmed | |
| Asylum-seeker permit (section 22) | Not confirmed | |
| Refugee status document (section 24) | Not confirmed | |
| South African driving licence | Not confirmed | |
| International driving permit | Not confirmed | |
| Professional Driving Permit (PrDP) | Not confirmed | |
| Vehicle registration papers | Not confirmed | |
| Roadworthy certificate | Not confirmed | |
| Vehicle insurance | Not confirmed | |
| Proof of address | Not confirmed | |
| Bank account details | Not confirmed | |
| Tax number | Not confirmed | |
| Police clearance / background check | Not confirmed | |
| Smartphone | Not confirmed |
Vehicles
Foreign documents
| Document | What Pick n Pay asap! says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Foreign passport | Not confirmed | |
| Work permit or visa allowing work | Not confirmed | |
| Asylum-seeker permit (section 22) | Not confirmed | |
| Refugee status document (section 24) | Not confirmed | |
| International driving permit | Not confirmed |
Questions people ask
How do I apply to drive for Pick n Pay asap!?
Is Pick n Pay asap! the same as Mr D?
What does Pick n Pay asap! pay?
Sources
- Mr D groceries partnership with Pick n Pay Company page Takealot Group. Read on 6 September 2026 . Confirms Pick n Pay groceries are sold through Mr D. Does not say that every Pick n Pay asap! delivery is handled by Mr D or TFS.
- Pick n Pay at a glance Company page Pick n Pay Stores Limited. Read on 6 September 2026 . Confirms that Pick n Pay asap! and Pick n Pay Groceries on Mr D both operate. Publishes no driver recruitment requirements.
- Pick n Pay online shopping Company page Pick n Pay Stores Limited. Read on 6 September 2026 . The customer-facing asap! entry point. Says nothing about drivers, driver requirements, a driver application or who does the deliveries.
- Picup Driver App: Pick n Pay asap! collections and returns Company page Picup. Read on 6 September 2026 . Picup's driver help centre carries a Pick n Pay asap! procedure for failed collections and returns, so Picup drivers deliver asap! orders. It does not say Picup handles every asap! store.
- Pick n Pay asap! driver reveals insider details, BusinessTech News report BusinessTech. Read on 6 September 2026 . An interview with one driver. One person's account of their own arrangement, not a stated Pick n Pay policy, and not an earnings figure for anyone else.
We last checked this page against its sources on 6 September 2026.