Delivery Jobs With a Motorbike in South Africa

A motorbike opens the most delivery work in South Africa. It opens no passenger work, because Uber and Bolt here carry passengers by car.

Research note Researched and reviewed by the DriverZA editorial team. Facts checked 6 September 2026.

A motorbike or scooter opens the most delivery work. Uber Eats, Takealot, Mr D, Pingo and Picup all take one. Pingo does Checkers Sixty60 deliveries and rents bikes to drivers who qualify. Picup names two vendors that supply a bike, and is the only one that says what it pays per kilometre.

It opens no passenger work here. Uber's listed body types are all cars, and Bolt and inDrive are car services too. A motorbike will not get you ride-hailing work in South Africa.

The table below is built from what each company says. Not confirmed means we found nothing either way. It does not mean no.

What each company says about vehicles

Company No vehicleBicycleScooterMotorbikeCarBakkieVanTruck Own vehicle Foreign documents Apply
Takealot / TFS On-Demand Depends No Yes Yes Yes Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Depends Published Official site
Mr D No Not confirmed Yes Yes Yes Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Yes Published Official site
Uber Depends No No No Yes No Depends No Depends Not stated Official site
Uber Eats Depends Depends Yes Yes Yes Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Published Official site
Bolt Depends Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Yes Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed No Not stated Official site
inDrive Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Yes Not confirmed Depends Not confirmed Not confirmed Not stated Official site
Checkers Sixty60 Depends Not confirmed Depends Yes Depends Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Depends Published Official site
Pingo Depends Not confirmed Depends Yes Depends Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Depends Published Official site
Picup No Not confirmed Depends Yes Yes Not confirmed Yes Not confirmed Depends Published Official site
Pick n Pay asap! Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not stated

Scroll sideways. The company name stays in place.

Documents you are likely to need

Use the document checklist to see exactly what each company asks for, and tick items off as you collect them.

Equipment that may be required

What you need beyond the bike

Uber Eats is the most specific. Riders need a top box of about 68cm by 53cm by 42cm that closes, fits a large pizza box, holds the Uber Eats delivery bag, and is fixed to the bike. You also need a DEKRA inspection report, quoting OT-123 for a motorcycle.

Takealot asks for your vehicle licence disc. Mr D asks for a roadworthy certificate no older than one year, and third-party insurance. Pingo requires a working, roadworthy motorcycle, then supplies the branded load box and uniform.

Picup asks for third-party insurance, your vehicle licence, and a DEKRA assessment you pay for yourself, at R170.00 for a motorcycle, quoting Picup reference 791548. It also expects you in Picup gear, and says DEKRA assesses your appearance as well as the bike.

Do not buy an Uber Eats delivery bag before Uber sends you the link. Uber says this itself.

Which licence

Uber Eats lists the most: a South African Code A or A1, a Code 1 learner's licence, a South African temporary licence, or an International Driving Permit. It is the only company we track that names a learner's licence.

Mr D asks for a valid South African licence. It does not name a learner's licence or an international permit. Takealot and Picup both ask for a licence card without naming a code.

What to do if you do not own a vehicle

If you do not own a bike yet

Pingo rents motorbikes to qualifying drivers. It does not list the price or the full rules. Pingo says it will contribute an agreed amount per month while the bike is under the rental agreement, which is help with the cost, not money paid to you.

Pingo's home page calls this rent-to-own, and its driver page calls it renting. Ask which one you are being offered.

Takealot's form also offers No Transport as a vehicle option and does not end the application if you pick it. Takealot lists no rental option and does not say what work follows, so treat that as a question to ask, not a route.

Picup names two vendors that supply a bike: Lularides takes 5% of your earnings, iThemba takes R5 a week. Both put their banking details on your Picup profile, so Picup pays them and they pay you. Those are the only bike costs anyone here publishes, so use them to compare.

A rented bike costs you the same every month whether you work or not. Get the amount, the servicing terms, the damage and theft terms, and the exit terms in writing before you sign. Never pay a deposit to someone you cannot check.

Sources

  • Become a Pingo driver partner Company page Pingo. Read on 6 September 2026 . Pingo's driver-partner requirements, equipment, insurance, earnings, payment schedule, motorbike rental and induction. Says Pingo is “always looking for driver partners across the whole of South Africa” and lists no city list.
  • Bolt driver sign-up requirements Company page Bolt. Read on 6 September 2026 . Lists an email address, a RICA-registered cell number, a smartphone, a valid PrDP, a criminal record check, a head-and-shoulders photo and a cARscan inspection report, and says the new e-hailing laws require all vehicle owners to apply for an operating licence. States no minimum age, no licence code, no identity documents and no insurance requirement.
  • Deliver with Uber Eats in South Africa Company page Uber. Read on 6 September 2026 . Carries the accepted identity documents, the accepted licence codes, the DEKRA quote codes, the top box measurements and a 22-entry city selector. Advertises delivery by “car, bike, scooter, or even shoes” but gives requirements only for motorbike and car. Does not mention a PrDP anywhere.
  • Earn money as a driver with inDrive in South Africa Company page inDrive (SUOL Innovations Ltd). Read on 6 September 2026 . States three requirements: Category B drivers need at least 3 years' experience and Category D drivers at least 5, drivers must be at least 25, and any minibus driver needs a transport licence. Publishes no identity document list, no vehicle rules, no PrDP position and no South African city list.
  • Mr D on Takealot Group Company page Takealot Group. Read on 6 September 2026 . Publishes the fullest Mr D driver checklist and links to the sign-up form. Publishes no city list and no minimum age.
  • Pick n Pay at a glance Company page Pick n Pay Stores Limited. Read on 6 September 2026 . Confirms that Pick n Pay asap! and Pick n Pay Groceries on Mr D both operate. Publishes no driver recruitment requirements.
  • Picup Driver App Company page Picup. Published or updated 2 September 2026. Read on 6 September 2026 . Picup's own driver app, and the help centre inside it. You register under BECOME A LEGEND and upload documents under MANAGE PROFILE DOCUMENTS. The help centre covers registration, the vehicle inspection, the app, client procedures, earnings and the two vendors that supply bikes. Android only.
  • Takealot driver onboarding form Company page Takealot Group. Read on 6 September 2026 . The live application form. Lists the documents to have ready, asks for an Android 7+ phone, offers Car, Bike / Scooter or No Transport as the vehicle, and ends in an interview time slot. It blocks an application only for: no Android 7+ phone, a criminal conviction, refusing the criminal record check, or refusing the terms or the driver privacy policy.
  • Uber vehicle requirements in South Africa Company page Uber. Read on 6 September 2026 . States a maximum vehicle age in years per product, with a worked example for 2026. States outright that a roadworthy certificate is not required. Lists accepted body types per product.

We last checked this page against its sources on 6 September 2026.