Courier and Delivery Jobs With a Van in South Africa
Picup is the one company here that runs vans as a class of their own, and pays them a published rate. Uber's Van and XL products take an MPV, not a panel van.
Picup is the only delivery company on this site that treats a van as its own class. It runs two, a small van and a large van, and it uses them consistently: in the lottery that offers you work, in the rate card, and in the DEKRA price list.
It is also the only one that says what a van earns. A trip pays R85.05 for the first 5km in a small van and R86.94 in a large van, then R6.09 and R6.60 a kilometre. Picup changes the rates when fuel moves by R1.00 or more.
Uber Van and XL list a 5-door MPV or premium MPV. That is a people carrier, not a panel van. Both are passenger products, so both need a professional driving permit and an operating licence.
inDrive names Category D drivers and minibus drivers, so larger passenger vehicles are in scope there too. It does not say which models.
No other delivery company here says whether it takes a van. If Picup does not run where you are, the rest of the work for a panel van is contract courier and distribution. Those companies mostly do not list requirements online, so we do not track them yet.
Two legal points if you carry goods. A goods vehicle over 3,500kg needs a professional driving permit in the goods category, and below that weight it does not. The goods PrDP is issued from age 18, not 21.
Picup names no professional driving permit and prints no licence code, for a van or for anything else. It also sets no vehicle age limit: its standard is the DEKRA assessment, which costs R240.55 for a small van and R300.00 for a large one, paid by you and quoted against Picup reference 791548.
What each company says about vehicles
| Company | No vehicle | Bicycle | Scooter | Motorbike | Car | Bakkie | Van | Truck | Own vehicle | Foreign documents | Apply |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Takealot / TFS On-Demand | Depends | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Depends | Published | Official site |
| Mr D | No | Not confirmed | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | Published | Official site |
| Uber | Depends | No | No | No | Yes | No | Depends | No | Depends | Not stated | Official site |
| Uber Eats | Depends | Depends | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Published | Official site |
| Bolt | Depends | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | No | Not stated | Official site |
| inDrive | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | Not confirmed | Depends | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not stated | Official site |
| Checkers Sixty60 | Depends | Not confirmed | Depends | Yes | Depends | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Depends | Published | Official site |
| Pingo | Depends | Not confirmed | Depends | Yes | Depends | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Depends | Published | Official site |
| Picup | No | Not confirmed | Depends | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Yes | Not confirmed | Depends | Published | Official site |
| Pick n Pay asap! | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not stated |
Scroll sideways. The company name stays in place.
Documents you are likely to need
Use the document checklist to see exactly what each company asks for, and tick items off as you collect them.
Sources
- Become a Pingo driver partner Company page Pingo. Read on 6 September 2026 . Pingo's driver-partner requirements, equipment, insurance, earnings, payment schedule, motorbike rental and induction. Says Pingo is “always looking for driver partners across the whole of South Africa” and lists no city list.
- Bolt driver sign-up requirements Company page Bolt. Read on 6 September 2026 . Lists an email address, a RICA-registered cell number, a smartphone, a valid PrDP, a criminal record check, a head-and-shoulders photo and a cARscan inspection report, and says the new e-hailing laws require all vehicle owners to apply for an operating licence. States no minimum age, no licence code, no identity documents and no insurance requirement.
- Deliver with Uber Eats in South Africa Company page Uber. Read on 6 September 2026 . Carries the accepted identity documents, the accepted licence codes, the DEKRA quote codes, the top box measurements and a 22-entry city selector. Advertises delivery by “car, bike, scooter, or even shoes” but gives requirements only for motorbike and car. Does not mention a PrDP anywhere.
- Earn money as a driver with inDrive in South Africa Company page inDrive (SUOL Innovations Ltd). Read on 6 September 2026 . States three requirements: Category B drivers need at least 3 years' experience and Category D drivers at least 5, drivers must be at least 25, and any minibus driver needs a transport licence. Publishes no identity document list, no vehicle rules, no PrDP position and no South African city list.
- Mr D on Takealot Group Company page Takealot Group. Read on 6 September 2026 . Publishes the fullest Mr D driver checklist and links to the sign-up form. Publishes no city list and no minimum age.
- Picup Driver App Company page Picup. Published or updated 2 September 2026. Read on 6 September 2026 . Picup's own driver app, and the help centre inside it. You register under BECOME A LEGEND and upload documents under MANAGE PROFILE DOCUMENTS. The help centre covers registration, the vehicle inspection, the app, client procedures, earnings and the two vendors that supply bikes. Android only.
- Takealot driver onboarding form Company page Takealot Group. Read on 6 September 2026 . The live application form. Lists the documents to have ready, asks for an Android 7+ phone, offers Car, Bike / Scooter or No Transport as the vehicle, and ends in an interview time slot. It blocks an application only for: no Android 7+ phone, a criminal conviction, refusing the criminal record check, or refusing the terms or the driver privacy policy.
- Uber vehicle requirements in South Africa Company page Uber. Read on 6 September 2026 . States a maximum vehicle age in years per product, with a worked example for 2026. States outright that a roadworthy certificate is not required. Lists accepted body types per product.
We last checked this page against its sources on 6 September 2026.