Delivery Jobs With a Bicycle in South Africa
Only Uber Eats mentions bicycles, and only in its advertising. No company on this site gives bicycle requirements.
This page is short because there is very little to report. We would rather tell you that than pad it out.
Uber Eats advertises delivery by car, bike, scooter “or even shoes”. But the requirements it lists cover only motorbike and car, and both need a DEKRA vehicle inspection report, which a bicycle cannot have. So we could not confirm a working bicycle route.
Takealot's form offers Bike / Scooter, which means a motorbike or scooter, not a pedal bicycle. Every other company here either asks for a roadworthy vehicle or motorcycle, or says nothing about bicycles at all.
If you are starting without a motorised vehicle, the route with a stated arrangement behind it is Pingo's motorbike, which does Checkers Sixty60 deliveries. Ask whether it is a rental or rent-to-own before you sign.
What each company says about vehicles
| Company | No vehicle | Bicycle | Scooter | Motorbike | Car | Bakkie | Van | Truck | Own vehicle | Foreign documents | Apply |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Takealot / TFS On-Demand | Depends | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Depends | Published | Official site |
| Mr D | No | Not confirmed | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | Published | Official site |
| Uber | Depends | No | No | No | Yes | No | Depends | No | Depends | Not stated | Official site |
| Uber Eats | Depends | Depends | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Published | Official site |
| Bolt | Depends | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | No | Not stated | Official site |
| inDrive | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | Not confirmed | Depends | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not stated | Official site |
| Checkers Sixty60 | Depends | Not confirmed | Depends | Yes | Depends | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Depends | Published | Official site |
| Pingo | Depends | Not confirmed | Depends | Yes | Depends | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Depends | Published | Official site |
| Picup | No | Not confirmed | Depends | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Yes | Not confirmed | Depends | Published | Official site |
| Pick n Pay asap! | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not stated |
Scroll sideways. The company name stays in place.
Documents you are likely to need
Use the document checklist to see exactly what each company asks for, and tick items off as you collect them.
Sources
- Become a Pingo driver partner Company page Pingo. Read on 6 September 2026 . Pingo's driver-partner requirements, equipment, insurance, earnings, payment schedule, motorbike rental and induction. Says Pingo is “always looking for driver partners across the whole of South Africa” and lists no city list.
- Bolt driver sign-up requirements Company page Bolt. Read on 6 September 2026 . Lists an email address, a RICA-registered cell number, a smartphone, a valid PrDP, a criminal record check, a head-and-shoulders photo and a cARscan inspection report, and says the new e-hailing laws require all vehicle owners to apply for an operating licence. States no minimum age, no licence code, no identity documents and no insurance requirement.
- Deliver with Uber Eats in South Africa Company page Uber. Read on 6 September 2026 . Carries the accepted identity documents, the accepted licence codes, the DEKRA quote codes, the top box measurements and a 22-entry city selector. Advertises delivery by “car, bike, scooter, or even shoes” but gives requirements only for motorbike and car. Does not mention a PrDP anywhere.
- Earn money as a driver with inDrive in South Africa Company page inDrive (SUOL Innovations Ltd). Read on 6 September 2026 . States three requirements: Category B drivers need at least 3 years' experience and Category D drivers at least 5, drivers must be at least 25, and any minibus driver needs a transport licence. Publishes no identity document list, no vehicle rules, no PrDP position and no South African city list.
- Mr D on Takealot Group Company page Takealot Group. Read on 6 September 2026 . Publishes the fullest Mr D driver checklist and links to the sign-up form. Publishes no city list and no minimum age.
- Picup Driver App Company page Picup. Published or updated 2 September 2026. Read on 6 September 2026 . Picup's own driver app, and the help centre inside it. You register under BECOME A LEGEND and upload documents under MANAGE PROFILE DOCUMENTS. The help centre covers registration, the vehicle inspection, the app, client procedures, earnings and the two vendors that supply bikes. Android only.
- Takealot driver onboarding form Company page Takealot Group. Read on 6 September 2026 . The live application form. Lists the documents to have ready, asks for an Android 7+ phone, offers Car, Bike / Scooter or No Transport as the vehicle, and ends in an interview time slot. It blocks an application only for: no Android 7+ phone, a criminal conviction, refusing the criminal record check, or refusing the terms or the driver privacy policy.
- Uber vehicle requirements in South Africa Company page Uber. Read on 6 September 2026 . States a maximum vehicle age in years per product, with a worked example for 2026. States outright that a roadworthy certificate is not required. Lists accepted body types per product.
We last checked this page against its sources on 6 September 2026.