Delivery Driver Jobs Without Owning a Vehicle in South Africa

Pingo rents motorbikes to qualifying delivery drivers. Uber and Bolt offer vehicle-partner routes for passenger drivers without a car.

Research note Researched and reviewed by the DriverZA editorial team. Facts checked 6 September 2026.

Most delivery companies in South Africa want you to bring your own vehicle. Mr D asks for your own reliable transport and lists no rental option.

Three companies offer a route that does not need you to own the vehicle:

  • Pingo rents motorbikes to qualifying delivery drivers. It does not list the price or the full rules, and its own two pages disagree on whether it is a rental or a rent-to-own deal.
  • Uber says you can sign up even without a car that meets its requirements, and points at a marketplace of partners who rent to drivers.
  • Bolt points at a vehicle partner that rents cars to drivers.

There is also a half-open door at Takealot. Its form offers No Transport as a vehicle option and does not end the application if you choose it. But Takealot lists no rental option and does not say what work follows, so ask a branch rather than counting on it.

Uber and Bolt are passenger work, so both still need a professional driving permit, an operating licence and age 21 before you can drive. Pingo is delivery work and does not mention a PrDP.

The honest summary: if you have no vehicle and no PrDP, Pingo is the shortest route.

What each company says about vehicles

Company No vehicleBicycleScooterMotorbikeCarBakkieVanTruck Own vehicle Foreign documents Apply
Takealot / TFS On-Demand Depends No Yes Yes Yes Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Depends Published Official site
Mr D No Not confirmed Yes Yes Yes Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Yes Published Official site
Uber Depends No No No Yes No Depends No Depends Not stated Official site
Uber Eats Depends Depends Yes Yes Yes Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Published Official site
Bolt Depends Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Yes Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed No Not stated Official site
inDrive Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Yes Not confirmed Depends Not confirmed Not confirmed Not stated Official site
Checkers Sixty60 Depends Not confirmed Depends Yes Depends Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Depends Published Official site
Pingo Depends Not confirmed Depends Yes Depends Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Depends Published Official site
Picup No Not confirmed Depends Yes Yes Not confirmed Yes Not confirmed Depends Published Official site
Pick n Pay asap! Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not confirmed Not stated

Scroll sideways. The company name stays in place.

Documents you are likely to need

Use the document checklist to see exactly what each company asks for, and tick items off as you collect them.

Before you rent anything

A rented bike or car costs you the same every week or month, whether you work or not. Ask for all of this in writing:

  • The exact weekly or monthly amount, and what it includes.
  • Who pays for services, tyres and repairs.
  • What happens if the vehicle is damaged, stolen or impounded.
  • How much notice you must give to end the agreement, and what that costs.
  • Whether the deposit is refundable, and when.

Two more for a car rented for passenger work: who holds the operating licence for that vehicle, and who pays the fine if it does not have one.

There is a longer list, with the money, vehicle, risk and exit questions set out, on our page about renting a motorbike or car to drive.

Do not pay a deposit before you have seen the vehicle, checked the provider and read the agreement. A rental is the single biggest cost most new drivers take on, and it is the one most often used to run a scam.

Delivery on foot or by bicycle

Uber Eats advertises delivery by car, bike, scooter “or even shoes”. But the requirements it lists cover only motorbike and car, and both need a DEKRA vehicle inspection report, which neither a bicycle nor a pair of shoes can have. We could not confirm a working route for delivery on foot or by bicycle.

Sources

  • Become a Pingo driver partner Company page Pingo. Read on 6 September 2026 . Pingo's driver-partner requirements, equipment, insurance, earnings, payment schedule, motorbike rental and induction. Says Pingo is “always looking for driver partners across the whole of South Africa” and lists no city list.
  • Bolt driver sign-up requirements Company page Bolt. Read on 6 September 2026 . Lists an email address, a RICA-registered cell number, a smartphone, a valid PrDP, a criminal record check, a head-and-shoulders photo and a cARscan inspection report, and says the new e-hailing laws require all vehicle owners to apply for an operating licence. States no minimum age, no licence code, no identity documents and no insurance requirement.
  • Deliver with Uber Eats in South Africa Company page Uber. Read on 6 September 2026 . Carries the accepted identity documents, the accepted licence codes, the DEKRA quote codes, the top box measurements and a 22-entry city selector. Advertises delivery by “car, bike, scooter, or even shoes” but gives requirements only for motorbike and car. Does not mention a PrDP anywhere.
  • Drive with Uber in South Africa Company page Uber. Read on 6 September 2026 . Names five cities: Johannesburg, Pretoria, Cape Town, Port Elizabeth and Durban. Uber still uses the name Port Elizabeth for Gqeberha. Says you can sign up without a car that meets the vehicle requirements and points at a Vehicle Marketplace of partners. States no minimum age.
  • Earn money as a driver with inDrive in South Africa Company page inDrive (SUOL Innovations Ltd). Read on 6 September 2026 . States three requirements: Category B drivers need at least 3 years' experience and Category D drivers at least 5, drivers must be at least 25, and any minibus driver needs a transport licence. Publishes no identity document list, no vehicle rules, no PrDP position and no South African city list.
  • Mr D on Takealot Group Company page Takealot Group. Read on 6 September 2026 . Publishes the fullest Mr D driver checklist and links to the sign-up form. Publishes no city list and no minimum age.
  • Pick n Pay at a glance Company page Pick n Pay Stores Limited. Read on 6 September 2026 . Confirms that Pick n Pay asap! and Pick n Pay Groceries on Mr D both operate. Publishes no driver recruitment requirements.
  • Picup Driver App Company page Picup. Published or updated 2 September 2026. Read on 6 September 2026 . Picup's own driver app, and the help centre inside it. You register under BECOME A LEGEND and upload documents under MANAGE PROFILE DOCUMENTS. The help centre covers registration, the vehicle inspection, the app, client procedures, earnings and the two vendors that supply bikes. Android only.
  • Takealot driver onboarding form Company page Takealot Group. Read on 6 September 2026 . The live application form. Lists the documents to have ready, asks for an Android 7+ phone, offers Car, Bike / Scooter or No Transport as the vehicle, and ends in an interview time slot. It blocks an application only for: no Android 7+ phone, a criminal conviction, refusing the criminal record check, or refusing the terms or the driver privacy policy.

We last checked this page against its sources on 6 September 2026.