Delivery Jobs With Your Own Car in South Africa
A car is the only vehicle that opens both delivery and passenger work. Passenger work costs you a PrDP, an inspection and an operating licence.
A car is the only vehicle here that opens both kinds of work.
For delivery, Uber Eats, Takealot, Mr D and Picup all take a car, and none of them mentions a PrDP. For passengers, Uber, Bolt and inDrive all use cars. Uber and Bolt want a PrDP, a criminal record check, an inspection and an operating licence. inDrive says less, but the law is the same.
The difference is how long it takes. Passenger work waits on the PrDP. The government says up to 12 weeks. Bolt says fingerprint processing takes 5 to 10 working days and the card up to 12 weeks, and puts the total cost at about R768.
The other difference is age. Delivery starts at 18 where a company says an age. Passenger work effectively starts at 21, because that is the PrDP age, and inDrive sets 25.
What each company says about vehicles
| Company | No vehicle | Bicycle | Scooter | Motorbike | Car | Bakkie | Van | Truck | Own vehicle | Foreign documents | Apply |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Takealot / TFS On-Demand | Depends | No | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Depends | Published | Official site |
| Mr D | No | Not confirmed | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | Published | Official site |
| Uber | Depends | No | No | No | Yes | No | Depends | No | Depends | Not stated | Official site |
| Uber Eats | Depends | Depends | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Published | Official site |
| Bolt | Depends | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | No | Not stated | Official site |
| inDrive | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | Not confirmed | Depends | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not stated | Official site |
| Checkers Sixty60 | Depends | Not confirmed | Depends | Yes | Depends | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Depends | Published | Official site |
| Pingo | Depends | Not confirmed | Depends | Yes | Depends | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Depends | Published | Official site |
| Picup | No | Not confirmed | Depends | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Yes | Not confirmed | Depends | Published | Official site |
| Pick n Pay asap! | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not stated |
Scroll sideways. The company name stays in place.
Documents you are likely to need
Use the document checklist to see exactly what each company asks for, and tick items off as you collect them.
Does my car qualify?
The delivery companies say little about the car itself. Uber Eats says a 2-door or 4-door car with a DEKRA inspection report, quoting OT-125. Mr D asks for a roadworthy certificate no older than a year, a current vehicle licence renewal document and third-party insurance. Takealot photographs your licence disc.
The ride-hailing companies are stricter. Uber counts the car's age in years: 12 for Go, 8 for UberX, Van and XL, 5 for Comfort and Black. In 2026 that means 2014, 2019, 2022 and 2021. Uber wants an inspection but not a roadworthy certificate. Bolt wants a cARscan inspection. inDrive sets no age limit.
Because Uber's rule is an age and not a year, a car that qualifies in December may not qualify in January. Check the number before you buy.
What to do if you do not own a vehicle
If your car does not qualify
Uber says you can sign up even without a car that meets its requirements, and points at a marketplace of partners. Bolt does the same.
Renting is a real cost against your earnings, every week, whether you work or not. Bolt's own median is about R5 167 a week before your costs, so work out what a rental leaves you before you sign anything. Read the agreement, see the car, and check who holds the operating licence.
Sources
- Become a Pingo driver partner Company page Pingo. Read on 6 September 2026 . Pingo's driver-partner requirements, equipment, insurance, earnings, payment schedule, motorbike rental and induction. Says Pingo is “always looking for driver partners across the whole of South Africa” and lists no city list.
- Bolt driver sign-up requirements Company page Bolt. Read on 6 September 2026 . Lists an email address, a RICA-registered cell number, a smartphone, a valid PrDP, a criminal record check, a head-and-shoulders photo and a cARscan inspection report, and says the new e-hailing laws require all vehicle owners to apply for an operating licence. States no minimum age, no licence code, no identity documents and no insurance requirement.
- Deliver with Uber Eats in South Africa Company page Uber. Read on 6 September 2026 . Carries the accepted identity documents, the accepted licence codes, the DEKRA quote codes, the top box measurements and a 22-entry city selector. Advertises delivery by “car, bike, scooter, or even shoes” but gives requirements only for motorbike and car. Does not mention a PrDP anywhere.
- Earn money as a driver with inDrive in South Africa Company page inDrive (SUOL Innovations Ltd). Read on 6 September 2026 . States three requirements: Category B drivers need at least 3 years' experience and Category D drivers at least 5, drivers must be at least 25, and any minibus driver needs a transport licence. Publishes no identity document list, no vehicle rules, no PrDP position and no South African city list.
- Mr D on Takealot Group Company page Takealot Group. Read on 6 September 2026 . Publishes the fullest Mr D driver checklist and links to the sign-up form. Publishes no city list and no minimum age.
- Pick n Pay at a glance Company page Pick n Pay Stores Limited. Read on 6 September 2026 . Confirms that Pick n Pay asap! and Pick n Pay Groceries on Mr D both operate. Publishes no driver recruitment requirements.
- Picup Driver App Company page Picup. Published or updated 2 September 2026. Read on 6 September 2026 . Picup's own driver app, and the help centre inside it. You register under BECOME A LEGEND and upload documents under MANAGE PROFILE DOCUMENTS. The help centre covers registration, the vehicle inspection, the app, client procedures, earnings and the two vendors that supply bikes. Android only.
- Takealot driver onboarding form Company page Takealot Group. Read on 6 September 2026 . The live application form. Lists the documents to have ready, asks for an Android 7+ phone, offers Car, Bike / Scooter or No Transport as the vehicle, and ends in an interview time slot. It blocks an application only for: no Android 7+ phone, a criminal conviction, refusing the criminal record check, or refusing the terms or the driver privacy policy.
- Uber vehicle requirements in South Africa Company page Uber. Read on 6 September 2026 . States a maximum vehicle age in years per product, with a worked example for 2026. States outright that a roadworthy certificate is not required. Lists accepted body types per product.
We last checked this page against its sources on 6 September 2026.