How to Become an inDrive Driver in South Africa
inDrive is passenger work where the driver and passenger agree the fare. It gives only three driver requirements, and the highest minimum age here: 25.
- Work
- Passenger transport
- Vehicles
- Car
- Own vehicle
- Not confirmed inDrive says nothing about whether the car has to be yours, and lists no rental or fleet partner.
- Minimum age
- 25
- Licence
- A Category B or Category D licence inDrive writes Category B and Category D, not South African codes. Category B is the ordinary car licence, Code B here. Category D is a minibus or bus licence.
- PrDP
- Not confirmed What is a PrDP? inDrive says only that “drivers of any kind of minibus must have a transport license”. The law is separate from what an app says: you need a PrDP to carry passengers for an income.
- Foreign documents
- Not stated
- Applications
- Not confirmed inDrive gives driver requirements but does not say where or whether it is currently taking on new drivers. Checked 6 September 2026
- Cities
- Not confirmed
- Apply at
- inDrive inDrive gives three driver requirements and points you at its app. It does not give a document list or a step-by-step application on its website.
- Last checked
- 6 September 2026
Overview
inDrive is a ride-hailing app. The difference from Uber and Bolt is the price: a passenger offers a fare, and drivers accept it or offer their own.
inDrive says very little for South African drivers. Three things, in fact:
- You must be at least 25. That is the highest minimum age of any company on this site.
- A Category B driver needs at least 3 years' driving experience. A Category D driver needs at least 5. inDrive is the only company here that sets a minimum experience period.
- Any minibus driver needs a transport licence.
Category B is the ordinary car licence, which is Code B in South Africa. Category D is a minibus or bus licence. inDrive uses the European category letters rather than South African codes.
Requirements
| Requirement | What it says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum age | Required 25 inDrive says “you must be at least 25 years old”. That is the highest minimum age of any company we track. | Company page 6 Sep 2026 |
| Driving experience | Required At least 3 years' driving experience on a Category B licence, or 5 years on a Category D licence inDrive is the only company we track that sets a minimum experience period. | Company page 6 Sep 2026 |
| Driving licence | Required A Category B or Category D licence inDrive writes Category B and Category D, not South African codes. Category B is the ordinary car licence, Code B here. Category D is a minibus or bus licence. | Company page 6 Sep 2026 |
| Professional Driving Permit (PrDP) | Not confirmed inDrive says only that “drivers of any kind of minibus must have a transport license”. The law is separate from what an app says: you need a PrDP to carry passengers for an income. | Company page 6 Sep 2026 |
| Operating licence / permit | Required An operating licence for the vehicle, under the amended National Land Transport Act This is a legal requirement, not an inDrive rule. inDrive's own driver page does not mention it. | Government 6 Sep 2026 |
| Roadworthy certificate | Not confirmed | No source |
| Own vehicle | Not confirmed inDrive says nothing about whether the car has to be yours, and lists no rental or fleet partner. | Company page 6 Sep 2026 |
| Vehicle age limit | Not confirmed inDrive lists no vehicle age limit for South Africa. | Company page 6 Sep 2026 |
| Vehicle insurance | Not confirmed | No source |
| Criminal / background screening | Not confirmed inDrive's South African driver page does not mention a criminal record check. | Company page 6 Sep 2026 |
| Vehicle inspection | Not confirmed | No source |
| Smartphone | Not confirmed Not stated, although the work is done through the inDrive app. | Company page 6 Sep 2026 |
| Bank account | Not confirmed | No source |
| Training or onboarding session | Not confirmed | No source |
Notes on the requirements
The gap between the app and the law
inDrive does not mention a PrDP. Uber and Bolt both do.
That is a difference in what the companies say, not a difference in the law. South African law says you need a professional driving permit to carry passengers for an income, and for any vehicle that needs an operating licence. E-hailing vehicles need an operating licence under the amended National Land Transport Act.
So the safe reading is: an app not asking you for something does not mean a traffic officer will not. Read our page on how to get a PrDP and on operating licences before you start.
Documents
| Document | Status | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| South African ID | Not confirmed | inDrive names no identity documents for South Africa. |
| South African passport | Not confirmed | Not mentioned. |
| Foreign passport | Not confirmed | inDrive says nothing about documents for foreign nationals. |
| Work permit or visa allowing work | Not confirmed | Not mentioned. |
| Asylum-seeker permit (section 22) | Not confirmed | Not mentioned. |
| Refugee status document (section 24) | Not confirmed | Not mentioned. |
| South African driving licence | Required | A Category B or Category D licence, held for the stated minimum period. |
| International driving permit | Not confirmed | |
| Professional Driving Permit (PrDP) | Not confirmed | Not mentioned. |
| Vehicle registration papers | Not confirmed | |
| Roadworthy certificate | Not confirmed | |
| Vehicle insurance | Not confirmed | |
| Proof of address | Not confirmed | |
| Bank account details | Not confirmed | |
| Tax number | Not confirmed | |
| Police clearance / background check | Not confirmed | Not mentioned. |
| Smartphone | Not confirmed |
Application process
inDrive gives no step-by-step application and no document list on its website. It points you at the inDrive app.
Because there is no document list, we cannot tell you what inDrive asks for: no identity documents, no vehicle rules, no vehicle age limit, no criminal record check, no city list. Ask inDrive before you spend money on anything.
Vehicles
| Vehicle | Accepted | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| No vehicle | Not confirmed | inDrive lists no rental or fleet route, and does not say whether one exists. |
| Bicycle | Not confirmed | Not mentioned. |
| Scooter | Not confirmed | Not mentioned. |
| Motorbike | Not confirmed | Not mentioned. |
| Car | Yes | inDrive's stated requirement is a Category B licence, which is the ordinary car licence. |
| Bakkie | Not confirmed | Not mentioned. |
| Van | Depends | inDrive names Category D drivers and minibus drivers, so larger passenger vehicles are in scope. It does not say which models. |
| Truck | Not confirmed | Not mentioned. |
Foreign documents
| Document | What inDrive says | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Foreign passport | Not confirmed inDrive says nothing about documents for foreign nationals. | Company page |
| Work permit or visa allowing work | Not confirmed Not mentioned. | Company page |
| Asylum-seeker permit (section 22) | Not confirmed Not mentioned. | Company page |
| Refugee status document (section 24) | Not confirmed Not mentioned. | Company page |
| International driving permit | Not confirmed |
Can foreign nationals apply?
inDrive says nothing about documents for foreign nationals, and nothing about identity documents at all.
So you have nothing in writing either way. Ask inDrive before you spend money.
Questions people ask
How old do I have to be to drive for inDrive?
Do I need a PrDP for inDrive?
Which cities does inDrive work in?
Sources
- Earn money as a driver with inDrive in South Africa Company page inDrive (SUOL Innovations Ltd). Read on 6 September 2026 . States three requirements: Category B drivers need at least 3 years' experience and Category D drivers at least 5, drivers must be at least 25, and any minibus driver needs a transport licence. Publishes no identity document list, no vehicle rules, no PrDP position and no South African city list.
- Transport gazettes National Land Transport Amendment Act and e-hailing regulations Government Department of Transport. Published or updated 12 September 2025. Read on 6 September 2026 . Says the amended Act and the e-hailing regulations were gazetted on 12 September 2025 for implementation. E-hailing operators pay a standard operating licence application fee, each vehicle must be branded or carry an e-hailing sign, panic buttons must be fitted, and all apps must be registered with the regulators. An app developer who lets a driver work without an operating licence risks a fine of up to R100,000 or up to two years in jail. The statement gives no commencement date and no transition period.
- inDrive official website Company page inDrive. Read date not recorded . Placeholder. Replace with the platform's own driver sign-up or requirements page, then record the date you checked it.
We last checked this page against its sources on 6 September 2026.