Driver and Delivery Work in South Africa for Foreign Nationals
What each company says about passports, work permits, asylum documents and refugee documents, and why an app accepting your document is not the same as being allowed to work.
The short version
Each company says something different, and several say nothing at all.
- Uber Eats says the most. Its accepted identity documents are a South African ID book or card, a South African passport, a non-South African passport with a permit, an asylum seeker or refugee permit, or a refugee ID.
- Takealot's form offers another country's passport as an identity option, and asks non-South African citizens to add a work permit or an asylum document. It does not name a refugee status document.
- Pingo, which does Checkers Sixty60 deliveries, names a South African work permit and what it calls an asylum visa. It does not name a foreign passport or a refugee document.
- Mr D names a work permit only. No passport, no asylum document, no refugee document.
- Picup asks a driver who is not a South African citizen for an asylum seeker document, work permit or visa, and then writes “etc”. It has one ID document slot and does not say what may fill it, so it names no passport of any kind, and no refugee status document.
- Uber, Bolt and inDrive name no identity documents at all. Not for South Africans either. We cannot tell you what they accept.
A company not naming a document is not the same as refusing it. But it means you have nothing to show at a branch.
Note the wording on the two clearest lists. Uber Eats writes “Non-South African Passport + Permit”, and Takealot asks for a passport and a work permit or asylum document. Neither accepts a foreign passport on its own.
Four of them have the same gap. Takealot, Pingo, Mr D and Picup all name an asylum or work permit document, and none names a section 24 refugee document. Uber Eats is the only one that does.
The driving permit is usually the harder step
For passenger work with Uber or Bolt, the hard part is usually the professional driving permit, not the app.
A driving licence testing centre issues the PrDP, not Uber or Bolt. The government's checklist asks for an identity document, driving licence card or valid South African passport, four photographs, a valid driving licence for the category, a medical certificate no older than two months, and proof of address. It does not cover every foreign-document case.
Bolt's own PrDP guide is more direct about this than the government page: it says a South African citizen brings an ID card or book and a foreign national brings a valid passport. That is Bolt describing the process, not a rule, but it is the clearest thing said on the subject.
You also need a valid South African driving licence card for the PrDP, which is a real obstacle if you drive on a foreign licence.
This is the main difference between delivery work and passenger work. Uber Eats, Takealot, Mr D, Pingo, Picup and Sixty60 mention no PrDP. Uber and Bolt cannot activate you without one.
Which driving licences companies accept
Uber Eats is the only company here that names an International Driving Permit in writing, for both motorbike and car. It is also the only one that names a South African Code 1 learner's licence, and it accepts a South African temporary licence.
Mr D asks for a valid South African driving licence, and names no alternative. Takealot's form photographs a licence card and reads the code off it, without listing the accepted codes. Pingo asks for a valid driving licence without naming a code.
Only a 2024 news report said Takealot accepts an international licence from foreign nationals. Takealot's own form does not say it. Ask the branch.
If you want passenger work, a foreign or international licence is a bigger problem than a company's onboarding list, because a PrDP is issued against a South African licence card. Our page on converting a foreign driving licence goes through what the government says about that, and the one question its pages do not answer.
What the law says about working
DriverZA does not give immigration or legal advice, and this section is not advice. It is what UNHCR South Africa says, in plain words.
Two different things get confused all the time, so keep them apart:
- A company saying it accepts a document. That is an onboarding rule. It is what most of this site records.
- Being allowed to work in South Africa. That is your immigration status, and no app decides it.
One does not prove the other, in either direction.
A recognised refugee under section 24 has the right to seek employment in South Africa.
An asylum seeker under section 22 does not automatically have permission to work while the claim is being decided. The section 22 document has to be endorsed to permit work, which means applying to the Standing Committee, and the Standing Committee decides whether to grant it and on what conditions.
UNHCR also says plainly that this practice “has not yet been fully implemented”. So what happens in practice may not match what the rule says, in either direction.
Your own permit and its endorsements decide this, not a website and not an app. Check with the Department of Home Affairs, and check what your own document actually says on it.
Before you pay anyone
People selling fake registrations, fake permits and fake bike rentals often target foreign nationals, because the real process is confusing and slow.
The important distinction is where you are being asked for documents, not which documents.
- Normal. A company's own onboarding form asking you to photograph your passport and permit. Takealot's form does exactly that. That is the process working.
- Not normal. A person on WhatsApp asking you to send the same photographs to them. Nobody legitimate needs that.
- Never normal. Anyone charging a registration fee, an activation fee, or a fee for a “slot”. No company on this site charges to apply.
Three rules that follow:
- Start at the company's own site. Every application link on DriverZA goes there and nowhere else.
- Never pay a person for a driver job, a place in a queue, or a faster application.
- Never buy a permit, an endorsement or a licence from anyone. A fake one costs you the money and then the job.
Our scam page goes through this in more detail.
What the companies say
| Company | Foreign documents | Requirements |
|---|---|---|
| Takealot / TFS On-Demand | Published | Takealot / TFS On-Demand |
| Mr D | Published | Mr D |
| Uber | Not stated | Uber |
| Uber Eats | Published | Uber Eats |
| Bolt | Not stated | Bolt |
| inDrive | Not stated | inDrive |
| Checkers Sixty60 | Published | Checkers Sixty60 |
| Pingo | Published | Pingo |
| Picup | Published | Picup |
| Pick n Pay asap! | Not stated | Pick n Pay asap! |
Questions people ask
Can I drive for Uber Eats with an asylum seeker permit?
Which company accepts the most documents?
Does Uber or Bolt accept an asylum seeker permit?
Can I use an international driving licence?
Why is Uber harder than Uber Eats if they are the same company?
Sources
- Apply for a professional driving permit, South African Government Government South African Government. Read on 6 September 2026 . Says you need a PrDP to drive goods, dangerous goods or passengers for an income, and that it covers any vehicle that needs an operating licence. Minimum ages: 18 for goods, 21 for passengers, 25 for dangerous goods. Goods vehicles are covered above 3,500kg. You apply at a driving licence testing centre, or online in Gauteng, and the permit may take up to 12 weeks.
- Become a Mr D driver Company page Mr D (Pty) Ltd. Read on 6 September 2026 . Mr D's own driver page. Lists four requirements and, separately, the areas Mr D serves. This is the only driver page in this snapshot that gives a service-area list on the company's own site.
- Become a Pingo driver partner Company page Pingo. Read on 6 September 2026 . Pingo's driver-partner requirements, equipment, insurance, earnings, payment schedule, motorbike rental and induction. Says Pingo is “always looking for driver partners across the whole of South Africa” and lists no city list.
- Bolt: PrDP applications Company page Bolt. Read on 6 September 2026 . Says you must be at least 21 to apply for a PrDP, that Afiswitch fingerprint processing takes 5 to 10 working days, that a temporary PrDP lasts 6 months and that the card can take up to 12 weeks. Puts the total cost at about R768 based on a R250 medical. For identification it names an ID card or book for South African citizens and a valid passport for foreign nationals.
- Deliver with Uber Eats in South Africa Company page Uber. Read on 6 September 2026 . Carries the accepted identity documents, the accepted licence codes, the DEKRA quote codes, the top box measurements and a 22-entry city selector. Advertises delivery by “car, bike, scooter, or even shoes” but gives requirements only for motorbike and car. Does not mention a PrDP anywhere.
- Picup Driver App Company page Picup. Published or updated 2 September 2026. Read on 6 September 2026 . Picup's own driver app, and the help centre inside it. You register under BECOME A LEGEND and upload documents under MANAGE PROFILE DOCUMENTS. The help centre covers registration, the vehicle inspection, the app, client procedures, earnings and the two vendors that supply bikes. Android only.
- Picup Driver App: Pick n Pay asap! collections and returns Company page Picup. Read on 6 September 2026 . Picup's driver help centre carries a Pick n Pay asap! procedure for failed collections and returns, so Picup drivers deliver asap! orders. It does not say Picup handles every asap! store.
- Takealot driver onboarding form Company page Takealot Group. Read on 6 September 2026 . The live application form. Lists the documents to have ready, asks for an Android 7+ phone, offers Car, Bike / Scooter or No Transport as the vehicle, and ends in an interview time slot. It blocks an application only for: no Android 7+ phone, a criminal conviction, refusing the criminal record check, or refusing the terms or the driver privacy policy.
- Uber: required documents for drivers Company page Uber. Read on 6 September 2026 . Lists a driver profile photo, safety screening results available at any PostNet or Jetline, and a valid South African PrDP. Says a temporary PrDP certificate cannot be uploaded and needs a Driver Verification Report instead. Names Scans AI for Go, Go Electric and Mini and DEKRA for Black, Comfort, XL and Van. Lists no identity documents and no minimum age.
- Access to work, UNHCR South Africa Authoritative guidance UNHCR South Africa. Read on 6 September 2026 . Says a recognised refugee has the right to seek employment, that an asylum seeker does not automatically have permission to work, that a section 22 document must be endorsed on application to the Standing Committee, and that this practice “has not yet been fully implemented”.
- What you need to become a Takealot or Uber driver in South Africa, MyBroadband News report MyBroadband. Published or updated 14 November 2024. Read on 6 September 2026 . A November 2024 news comparison of Takealot, Mr D, Uber and Uber Eats. On 6 September 2026 the page would not open for us: the site returned a bot challenge instead of the article. DriverZA therefore could not re-read it, so no requirement on this site rests on it. Where an earlier pass had used it, the row now reads Not confirmed and the note repeats what was reported.
We last checked this page against its sources on 6 September 2026.