Compare delivery and driver companies in South Africa
Filter by city, vehicle and type of work. Every cell comes from a company's own stated requirements.
| Company | Work | No vehicle | Bicycle | Scooter | Motorbike | Car | Bakkie | Van | Truck | Own vehicle | Licence | PrDP | Foreign docs | Cities | Applications | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mr D | Deliveries | No | Not confirmed | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | Code A, Code B | Not confirmed | Published | Cape Town, Johannesburg and 9 more | Open | 6 Sep 2026 |
| Uber | Passenger transport | Depends | No | No | No | Yes | No | Depends | No | Depends | Code B | Required | Not stated | Cape Town, Johannesburg and 3 more | Open | 6 Sep 2026 |
| Uber Eats | Deliveries | Depends | Depends | Yes | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Code A, Code B, Code C1, Code EB, Learner, International | Not confirmed | Published | Cape Town, Johannesburg and 20 more | Limited | 6 Sep 2026 |
| Bolt | Passenger transport | Depends | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Yes | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | Not confirmed | No | Code B | Required | Not stated | Cape Town, Johannesburg and 20 more | Open | 6 Sep 2026 |
Scroll sideways. The company name stays in place.
How to read this table
Every fact here carries the date a person last checked it, and a link to the source where we have one. Not confirmed means we have not checked it. Check with the company before you rely on it.
Delivery and passenger work are different
The biggest difference in this table is the kind of work, not the company.
Delivery. Takealot, Mr D, Uber Eats, Pingo, Picup and Sixty60 never mention a PrDP. None of them says you do not need one either. The law asks for a goods PrDP only above 3,500kg, and a delivery bike or car is well under that.
Passengers. Uber and Bolt both want a PrDP, a criminal record check, a vehicle inspection and an operating licence. Neither gives a minimum age, but a passenger PrDP starts at 21, so that is the floor. inDrive asks for 25 and never mentions a PrDP. The law is still the same.
The PrDP is the slow step. Government says up to 12 weeks.